Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Monday February 20, 2017
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Factory 2.5L Turbo Powertrain (EJ Series Factory 2.5L Turbo)

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads. 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-17-2010, 11:32 PM   #1
trite
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 81658
Join Date: Feb 2005
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: DeKalb IL
Vehicle:
2007 STI

Default AEM MAP sensor install

Guys,

You all rock and thanks for trying to help. I was going to post in the newbie forum but need the help of more technnically astute . Searched and searched but nada.

07 sti
20g build w/ meth

What is the clever solution for replacing the stock MAP sensor with the AEM 3.5 bar MAP sensor which has a threaded male fitting and my poor sti MAP sensor has this o-ring plastic male fitting. My throttle body is unthreaded and the AEM engineers tells me my best bet is to drill and tap my throttle body.

I will drill and tap as a last resort unless your brain has a functional solution for me besides doing this.

Thanks folks!!!
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
trite is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Old 03-18-2010, 12:20 AM   #2
Nuke209
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 108089
Join Date: Feb 2006
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Minnesota
Vehicle:
2003 WRX
NF Performance

Default

cobb has an adapter (call around to find it) so it'll work in the stock location
Nuke209 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2010, 02:31 AM   #3
trite
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 81658
Join Date: Feb 2005
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: DeKalb IL
Vehicle:
2007 STI

Default

Thanks. Contacted Cobb via email and in the waiting stage. Any further thoughts are welcome.
trite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2010, 04:48 AM   #4
WRX 2002
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 11211
Join Date: Oct 2001
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Gurnee IL
Vehicle:
2004 STi
Rally Blue

Default

P & L also has a adapter that I use. They are also in IL.
WRX 2002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2010, 11:31 PM   #5
trite
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 81658
Join Date: Feb 2005
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: DeKalb IL
Vehicle:
2007 STI

Default

For posterity, the above posts were absolutely correct. There is an adapter available for this install and you do NOT have to drill and tap the throttle body to get the AEM 3.5 bar map sensor installed in an 07sti. Thanks for your help guys.
trite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2010, 01:01 AM   #6
Concillian
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 4414
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Dublin, CA
Vehicle:
2002 WRX Sedan
Midnight Black

Default

You can also just use the barbed fitting it comes with and run a Y or T fitting from the line that goes to the BOV (as close to the manifold as possible) to the AEM. Then leave the stock sensor there unplugged covering the hole.
Concillian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2010, 09:10 AM   #7
WRX 2002
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 11211
Join Date: Oct 2001
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Gurnee IL
Vehicle:
2004 STi
Rally Blue

Default

I suspect the stock location would be best.

Do you have the wiring diagram to match the different colored wires?.

AEM Map
Red ( 5 v+) , Black ( - ) Green (Signal).

Car sensor
Red ( 5 v+), Black/Green ( - ) Orange ( Signal )

Hook up: Red to Red
Black to Black/Green
Green to Orange
WRX 2002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2010, 06:44 PM   #8
r8r4life
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 101464
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Emplyed again=Sucks
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WRX 2002 View Post
I suspect the stock location would be best.

Do you have the wiring diagram to match the different colored wires?.

AEM Map
Red ( 5 v+) , Black ( - ) Green (Signal).

Car sensor
Red ( 5 v+), Black/Green ( - ) Orange ( Signal )

Hook up: Red to Red
Black to Black/Green
Green to Orange

Sweet just what I was looking for.
r8r4life is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2010, 11:54 PM   #9
NSFW
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 140444
Join Date: Feb 2007
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Near Seattle, WA
Vehicle:
05 Stage Free LGT
ATP 3076, 6MT, AVO FMIC

Default

I just did this on my 05 LGT this afternoon. First, a big thanks to WRX 2002. Knowing what the various wires were for was very helpful, to say the least. One wrinkle, though... the stock wire that used to be red is black with a blue stripe on my car. I verified this first with a voltmeter, and then by hooking up the sensor, and it's working fine. I wouldn't be surprised if the 08+ Impreza was the same way.

And, since anyone who reads this is probably also going to be curious about the ECU settings for the AEM sensor:
http://forums.nasioc.com/forums/show....php?t=1797824
NSFW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2010, 12:50 AM   #10
synolimit
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 225225
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: medina, oh
Vehicle:
11 WRX
335HP, 394TQ, 93 VF52!!

Default

why is this needed to be replaced?
synolimit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2010, 12:52 AM   #11
Nuke209
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 108089
Join Date: Feb 2006
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Minnesota
Vehicle:
2003 WRX
NF Performance

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by synolimit View Post
why is this needed to be replaced?
stock reads up to 24.x psi

going aftermarket, depending on which one you get, allows higher reading (requires tune of course)
Nuke209 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2010, 01:44 AM   #12
soobaviator
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 115070
Join Date: May 2006
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Northern VA
Vehicle:
2009 DGM LGT Spec.B
08 Audi Q7 4.2 PRM

Default

Stock Map sensor runs out of resolution starting at 21.6 PSI at sea level... Using an AEM 3.5 bar sensor pushes that to 36 psi with rescaled MAP sensor values.

PM me if you want the vendor for the COBB MAP sensor adapter. Good price and quick shipping.



-soobaviator
soobaviator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2010, 03:10 PM   #13
synolimit
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 225225
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: medina, oh
Vehicle:
11 WRX
335HP, 394TQ, 93 VF52!!

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NSFW View Post
I just did this on my 05 LGT this afternoon. First, a big thanks to WRX 2002. Knowing what the various wires were for was very helpful, to say the least. One wrinkle, though... the stock wire that used to be red is black with a blue stripe on my car. I verified this first with a voltmeter, and then by hooking up the sensor, and it's working fine. I wouldn't be surprised if the 08+ Impreza was the same way.

And, since anyone who reads this is probably also going to be curious about the ECU settings for the AEM sensor:
http://forums.nasioc.com/forums/show....php?t=1797824
do you have a pic and how you did it on your car. looking at my 09wrx and not seeing what the MAP is or where.
synolimit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2010, 03:47 PM   #14
kellygnsd
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 32669
Join Date: Feb 2003
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Woodland Hills
Vehicle:
2007 2.34LR, EFR7670
LINK G4 hybrid STi

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by synolimit View Post
do you have a pic and how you did it on your car. looking at my 09wrx and not seeing what the MAP is or where.
How much boost do you run or plan to run?
kellygnsd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2010, 07:27 PM   #15
synolimit
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 225225
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: medina, oh
Vehicle:
11 WRX
335HP, 394TQ, 93 VF52!!

Default

would rather just have an answer
synolimit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2010, 05:37 AM   #16
kellygnsd
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 32669
Join Date: Feb 2003
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Woodland Hills
Vehicle:
2007 2.34LR, EFR7670
LINK G4 hybrid STi

Default

I ask because depending on how much boost you plan on running dictates whether you need it or not. I'll just assume you don't need it considering you don't know what or where the MAP is.
kellygnsd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2010, 02:12 PM   #17
synolimit
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 225225
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: medina, oh
Vehicle:
11 WRX
335HP, 394TQ, 93 VF52!!

Default

and i assume you deal with retarded people all day long and you always need to ask a question after a question has been asked. i can read this post!!!! and 100 others stating when you need a new MAP sensor due to the stock one only reads xx psi. its clear as day in post number 11 and 12!!! God why is it so hard for people to talk on the ****ing website!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Don’t say anything unless you know the answer or have something positive to say!! Questions on top of questions does someone no good! Specially when the answer has been said 100 times before.
synolimit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2010, 03:19 PM   #18
kellygnsd
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 32669
Join Date: Feb 2003
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Woodland Hills
Vehicle:
2007 2.34LR, EFR7670
LINK G4 hybrid STi

Default

Its on top of the throttle body... and yes I do deal with retarded people all day
kellygnsd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2010, 03:23 AM   #19
NSFW
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 140444
Join Date: Feb 2007
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Near Seattle, WA
Vehicle:
05 Stage Free LGT
ATP 3076, 6MT, AVO FMIC

Default

It's not on top of the throttle body on my car, and I doubt it is on his either.

Knowing how much boost you're running and knowing where the MAP sensor is are two completely unrelated concepts. I actually didn't know where mine was until the day I did the swap. I looked at the hoses, found a likely candidate, and confirmed my guess by unplugging it and verifying that I got a MAP sensor code.



The shiny cylinder is the AEM sensor. The stock sensor is sitting on the alternator, upside-down. That nipple normally points straight down, and the thing mounts to the bracket that's just barely visible behind the AEM.

The installation is not pretty, but I'll tidy it up after I switch to a proper interrupt solenoid. I took the stocker out when I put in an MBC, and cut off the mounting tab since I had no intention of using it again. Then I realized the MBC made the boost taper too much, so added the stocker back in just to tune out some of the taper. This is not the same 'hybrid boost control' described in Ride5000's thread, but it does what I needed.
NSFW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2010, 01:09 PM   #20
synolimit
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 225225
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: medina, oh
Vehicle:
11 WRX
335HP, 394TQ, 93 VF52!!

Default

Ahh thank you! I wondered what the hell that thing was. And ya we have the same set up so it's no where near my TB!

I was asking for a friend. He just built his motor and did a base tune for 15psi on a 3.0 XTR at like 335, 335. He put 1000 miles on and did 22 psi and made power to like 6000rpm. They then went to 26psi and the power falls hard at 5000rpm!! Now it made 400, 400 but it shouldn't fall that hard. The only thing I could think of was MAP, turbo and fuel. But turbo should do at least 450, fuel they'ed be watching the IDC and his turner isn't stupid, so it's gotta be MAP holding it back. I just didn't know where to tell him it is.
synolimit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2010, 01:17 PM   #21
kellygnsd
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 32669
Join Date: Feb 2003
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Woodland Hills
Vehicle:
2007 2.34LR, EFR7670
LINK G4 hybrid STi

Default

Are all the newer Subarus using the plastic intake manifold? I was wrong in assuming it the 09 was the same as the 07 STi setup.
kellygnsd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2010, 01:31 PM   #22
synolimit
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 225225
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: medina, oh
Vehicle:
11 WRX
335HP, 394TQ, 93 VF52!!

Default

Just the wrx and LGT
synolimit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2016, 01:08 AM   #23
methaddict
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 159738
Join Date: Sep 2007
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: SGV
Vehicle:
2004 WRB STi 620awhp
OFCD V3, FR TS, BW8374EFR

Default

Since this thread is the only one that comes up with installing AEM 3.5 bar map sensor I thought I'd post info where to buy the pigtail to make a plug and play harness instead of splicing into the stock one. Link: 3 - Way Econoseal J Series Receptacle Pigtail, Black from Ballenger Motorsports. Make sure to get the pin orientation right on the AEM socket to the map sensor which can be found in the pdf file from AEM for the map sensor, link: install.

Last edited by methaddict; 02-09-2016 at 01:19 AM.
methaddict is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2016, 09:24 PM   #24
No Go
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 38928
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Florida
Vehicle:
2004 153 MPH STI
Silver

Default

My tuner suggested an update to the MAP sensor as well. I chose an Omni model because it is a plug and play.

Seems this is an easier way to go.

Is there a benefit to the AEM option?

I am only shooting for 25 psi.

Thanks.
No Go is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2016, 10:04 AM   #25
mrp669
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 416220
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Michigan
Vehicle:
2006 Wrx
Black

Default resolution an accuracy?

Is there a problem with using aem 3.5 bar sensor if I only am shooting for 25 psi. Will resolution and accuracy be lost over say a 2 bar sensor?
Thanks Matt
mrp669 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Aftermarket MAP Sensor Installation DIY SloRice UTEC 130 04-27-2014 10:25 PM
AEM MAP sensor scaling MattPersman Open Source Reflashes 7 12-22-2008 01:54 PM
GM 3 bar MAP sensor install help DemiSlayer UTEC 0 10-17-2007 11:47 PM
MAP sensor installation oldhat Water/Methanol Injection, Nitrous & Intercooler Cooling 1 11-09-2006 10:05 PM
MAP sensor install? JaMa Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain (EJ Series Factory 2.0L Turbo) 48 06-23-2002 10:40 PM

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2017 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2017, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.