Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Friday January 20, 2017
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Transmission (AT/MT) & Driveline

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads. 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-17-2010, 08:33 PM   #1
Pinned
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 152707
Join Date: Jun 2007
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Western MA
Default 2008 STi 6 speed into RS?

I'm looking at a 2008 STi 6 speed locally. Is there any reason that it wouldn't mate up to my swapped RS (2000 RS with a 2004 WRX swap) the same way a 2007 or earlier STi transmission would? I have the opportunity to buy the entire driveline (transmission, rear diff, driveshaft, mounts, axles, hubs, brakes, etc). Also, would I need to get an aftermarket DCCD controller, or could I use the stock 2008 setup?

Are there any complications I'm overlooking (that are different from a 2007 or earlier swap)? Also, if I wanted to keep all my 5x100 hubs/suspension/wheels/etc, would I just use different axles?

Thanks for any help!
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Pinned is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Old 05-17-2010, 08:40 PM   #2
kpluiten
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 120273
Join Date: Jul 2006
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: AZ
Vehicle:
06 WRBWRXWGN
Now with 100% more Spec-C

Default

VSS. The 2008 has none.
kpluiten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2010, 10:16 PM   #3
Pinned
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 152707
Join Date: Jun 2007
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Western MA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kpluiten View Post
VSS. The 2008 has none.
Hmm, so is there any way to overcome that and have a working speedometer? If so, will the transmission physically fit up fine?
Pinned is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2010, 01:22 AM   #4
kpluiten
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 120273
Join Date: Jul 2006
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: AZ
Vehicle:
06 WRBWRXWGN
Now with 100% more Spec-C

Default

Physically, they fit fine. No different than 2004-2007 boxes. The VSS issue is being worked on by a few people. I think DCCDPro may be working on something.
kpluiten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2010, 02:00 AM   #5
Pinned
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 152707
Join Date: Jun 2007
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Western MA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kpluiten View Post
Physically, they fit fine. No different than 2004-2007 boxes. The VSS issue is being worked on by a few people. I think DCCDPro may be working on something.
I may be able to get the whole dash, or at least the cluster and harness if that makes any difference. How does the speed sensor on the 08+ cars work? Thanks for the help so far.
Pinned is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2010, 03:27 AM   #6
kpluiten
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 120273
Join Date: Jul 2006
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: AZ
Vehicle:
06 WRBWRXWGN
Now with 100% more Spec-C

Default

They pull the signal from the ABS/traction control setup in those cars as far as I understand.
kpluiten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2010, 05:58 PM   #7
Pinned
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 152707
Join Date: Jun 2007
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Western MA
Default

I emailed Jeff at DCCDPro, seems like he's working on the controllers but they aren't quite ready yet. I think I'm going to continue looking into this, are there any potential issues other than my speedometer not working?
Pinned is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2010, 06:58 PM   #8
kpluiten
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 120273
Join Date: Jul 2006
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: AZ
Vehicle:
06 WRBWRXWGN
Now with 100% more Spec-C

Default

I don't know. Does your ECU use the speed sensor for anything else?
kpluiten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2010, 02:14 AM   #9
Ducati593
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 249442
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Puerto Rico
Vehicle:
2006 wrx limited
black

Default

is there any updates on the speedometer problem with the 08 tranny swap to older models?
Ducati593 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2010, 08:08 AM   #10
DCCDPro
NASIOC Vendor
 
Member#: 227549
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Guelph, Ontario
Default

Shipping the VSSPro prototype out tomorrow to the first beta tester.

I had to build a second one so that we would have parallel systems in case I need to make changes and send firmware updates.

It looks so good on the the oscilloscope though....I'm very very close to having a viable solution to this!

One extra bonus with it....you can adjust your speedo to make it more accurate or for for different tires.

Last edited by DCCDPro; 06-16-2010 at 10:15 PM. Reason: Spelling
DCCDPro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2010, 09:18 PM   #11
Pinned
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 152707
Join Date: Jun 2007
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Western MA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DCCDPro View Post
Shipping the VSSPro prototype out tomorrow to the first beta tester.

I had to build a second one so that we would have parallel systems in case I need to make changes and send firmware updates.

It looks so good on the the oscilloscope though....I'm very very close to having a viable solution to this!

One extra bonus with it....you can adjust your speedo to make it more accurate or for for different tires.
Awesome. I hope all the testing goes smoothly.
Pinned is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2010, 10:38 PM   #12
theotherguy
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 191514
Join Date: Oct 2008
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: teh bremerton
Vehicle:
'05 FXT 6spd, 98
Fozzy lifted,'01 RS 6spd

Default

Pulled this from an old post that I made...

I was curious so I started looking to see if it would take a speedo gear.

'07 sti



08'sti




Maybe there is a plug there, just needs a gear installed...



#11 is the speedo drive gear on the '05-'07



Don't see it on the '08 plus but one may be able to be installed. Looks like it is installed on the lsd itself, hopefully its still keyed for the gear, part # appears to be the same.

It appears that you could put a speedo gear into an 08 but you'd have to use an 07 diff or get the speedo drive gear and install it on your 08 diff...
Hope it helps...
theotherguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2010, 09:10 AM   #13
DCCDPro
NASIOC Vendor
 
Member#: 227549
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Guelph, Ontario
Default

I think there was a lot of chatter about this here when the 08's were first seen in '07.
The bellhousing had to be machined or replaced, and the speedo drive gear added as well as the speedo pickup.

There is no plug in the new bellhousings....it would have to be machined into the case.
(And the gear added p/n #11 in your picture.)
The gear can be added, but for the case machining it is a bit difficult to get the hole location and size accurate enough.


On the other side of the problem....

VSSPro "Prototype #1" has been delivered the customer in Michigan who is trying it out. (!)

He is putting his car back together in the next week or two. It is an 08 tranny as well, I'm anxious to see how the testing goes. Hopefully very well and we can move forward with these 08+ tranny's without modification. It would be nice to be able to use the new tranny's. Unfortunately I have a feeling their price will jump up a bit one they are usable, right now good deals can be had on the 08+ tranny because they are a pita and few people who need them can use them.

Last edited by DCCDPro; 06-20-2010 at 09:31 AM.
DCCDPro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2010, 04:42 PM   #14
theotherguy
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 191514
Join Date: Oct 2008
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: teh bremerton
Vehicle:
'05 FXT 6spd, 98
Fozzy lifted,'01 RS 6spd

Default

Good info, wasn't sure if the pic was accurate or not for the '08 STI speedo plug on top of the bell housing.
Regardless, your product would save a lot of time and work. Hope it works out.
theotherguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2010, 06:58 PM   #15
Pinned
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 152707
Join Date: Jun 2007
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Western MA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DCCDPro View Post
I think there was a lot of chatter about this here when the 08's were first seen in '07.
The bellhousing had to be machined or replaced, and the speedo drive gear added as well as the speedo pickup.

There is no plug in the new bellhousings....it would have to be machined into the case.
(And the gear added p/n #11 in your picture.)
The gear can be added, but for the case machining it is a bit difficult to get the hole location and size accurate enough.


On the other side of the problem....

VSSPro "Prototype #1" has been delivered the customer in Michigan who is trying it out. (!)

He is putting his car back together in the next week or two. It is an 08 tranny as well, I'm anxious to see how the testing goes. Hopefully very well and we can move forward with these 08+ tranny's without modification. It would be nice to be able to use the new tranny's. Unfortunately I have a feeling their price will jump up a bit one they are usable, right now good deals can be had on the 08+ tranny because they are a pita and few people who need them can use them.
I'm very excited to hear how the initial testing goes. I've been seriously looking at a few wrecked 08+ cars (so I could buy the transmission).

Are you planning to incorporate the DCCD controller and VSS controller into one unit in the future?
Pinned is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2010, 01:32 AM   #16
181stLeader
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 184183
Join Date: Jul 2008
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: SCIC 91030
Vehicle:
1996 Impreza RSTi
V8 EJ207 Aerosim Carbon

Default

That would be kinda a cool idea kill two birds with one stone when getting an 08+ 6speed.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pinned View Post
Are you planning to incorporate the DCCD controller and VSS controller into one unit in the future?
181stLeader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2010, 09:24 PM   #17
DCCDPro
NASIOC Vendor
 
Member#: 227549
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Guelph, Ontario
Default

I actually don't think I'll incorporate them in one unit due to the amount of processing going on in the VSSPro and the processing load on the microchip when it is doing digital signal processing.

You'd be surprised how much processing power it takes to analyze the ABS signal and then convert it to a different signal entirely that the ecu and speedo to work with. (All accurately and over a widely varied input frequency.)

I think it's better to have a dedicated processor to do each job.

That's ok though, I'm thinking about a package deal for customers that need both products.


I got a call this afternoon from the beta tester, he's got the prototype unit and the car is going back together in the next few days. Looks like we will have some feedback soon (good or bad).
DCCDPro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2010, 11:56 PM   #18
Pinned
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 152707
Join Date: Jun 2007
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Western MA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DCCDPro View Post
I actually don't think I'll incorporate them in one unit due to the amount of processing going on in the VSSPro and the processing load on the microchip when it is doing digital signal processing.

You'd be surprised how much processing power it takes to analyze the ABS signal and then convert it to a different signal entirely that the ecu and speedo to work with. (All accurately and over a widely varied input frequency.)

I think it's better to have a dedicated processor to do each job.

That's ok though, I'm thinking about a package deal for customers that need both products.


I got a call this afternoon from the beta tester, he's got the prototype unit and the car is going back together in the next few days. Looks like we will have some feedback soon (good or bad).
Any updates on the testing? I hope it's going well!
Pinned is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2010, 01:59 AM   #19
FuJi K
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 3687
Join Date: Jan 2001
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: St. Paul, MN
Vehicle:
MY99 GF4 JDM 6spd
NF Performance

Default

So much trouble.

a simple '04-'07 6spd would be much more simple and still work.
FuJi K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2010, 07:17 AM   #20
DCCDPro
NASIOC Vendor
 
Member#: 227549
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Guelph, Ontario
Default

The problem is that the 06/07 tranny's aren't as available as they were.
The wrecked ones are harder to find, and new ones form Subaru are dwindling in numbers. I've been told Subaru is shipping reman's already. Maybe someone with access can let us know what the real stock is like as it is today but I've heard single digits of stock for brand new 07 tranny's.(?) (Don't forget that is a 4 year old tranny now.)

You are right it is/was a lot of work. Developing something like this takes a lot of time and effort to do on your own.

The end result for the customer will be a few wires clipped in at the ecu and a box the size of an Altoids case that does all the work. As well it will be able to adjust for different tire sizes / speedo recal as well if you need it to.

It is just about there, I will likely get a call from the beta tester this week if he has been able to get the car back together. I need that feedback to clean up the finished product and make any last minute program changes.
It isn't easy to find anyone with an 08 tranny that is swapped in to an earlier chassis...

If this works out, the '11 tranny's are then compatible with everything back to the early 90's!
DCCDPro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2010, 07:59 AM   #21
OrbitalEllipses
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 178811
Join Date: Apr 2008
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: MoCo
Vehicle:
2011 White Corolla
Over 400hp

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DCCDPro View Post
If this works out, the '11 tranny's are then compatible with everything back to the early 90's!
That. Is. Awesome.
OrbitalEllipses is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2010, 05:48 PM   #22
Pinned
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 152707
Join Date: Jun 2007
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Western MA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FuJi K View Post
So much trouble.

a simple '04-'07 6spd would be much more simple and still work.
It's worth the trouble like DCCDPro noted. I personally don't want to spend a lot of money on an older transmission with high mileage.

Thanks for the update DCCDPro! Best of luck getting it all finished up though.
Pinned is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2010, 10:22 PM   #23
DCCDPro
NASIOC Vendor
 
Member#: 227549
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Guelph, Ontario
Default

I spoke with our tester today, no it's not the STIG...for those who are guessing.

He's getting there, we just have to be patient....he got his short block back today so we will get some info soon. I already have some feedback that it will have to be wired in slightly differently than I was hoping for. All is good though so far. I'm just thankful to have someone willing to test it all out!

In the meantime I have some time to work feverishly on other projects that have taken way too long to get done. I been up past midnight and back at it with only a few hours sleep for a several nights in a row now.

DCCDPro -> USB "Tuning" is pretty much done! I have to iron out some of the final product details but it is fast and really solid. I've written an app for doing everything adjustment wise, but I'm going to also release the communications specs so people can program their own app and or run it on a carpc.
DCCDPro is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Master swap list for 04-07 Sti 6 speed into WRX crashtke Transmission (AT/MT) & Driveline 811 12-02-2016 08:36 AM
STi 6 speed into WRX swap clutch options? Bayley Subaru Conversions 13 03-30-2014 03:02 PM
How to put a 2007 usdm sti 6 speed into my 2003 WRX InfamousDX Transmission (AT/MT) & Driveline 11 10-27-2007 01:54 AM
Sti 6-speed into a GC questions??? handyRS Transmission (AT/MT) & Driveline 0 06-13-2007 03:43 PM
USDM STI 6-speed into USDM WRX? hobbzz Transmission (AT/MT) & Driveline 12 01-12-2003 04:26 AM

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2017 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2017, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.