Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Sunday September 24, 2017
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning > AccessPort

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads. 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-17-2009, 05:09 PM   #1
down_for_the_scooby
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 78314
Join Date: Dec 2004
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: 3 feet south of E. Bumblef***
Vehicle:
04 PSM WRX
Audi mask the right way

Default Do I need a tune or can I get away with an accessport map?

Been a member on this forum for a while but the EM&T section is new to me. I have a couple questions that may border on noob but all opinions/advice would be much appreciated.

The set-up:
2004 WRX

Mods:
-3"exhaust, 3"downpipe, aftermarket (catless) up pipe, headers, and underdrive crankshaft pulley.

The dilemna:

I blew the transmission and while it is being repaired, I have taken the opportunity to upgrade the aforementioned parts. Since the install, the car has not been driven, started etc. I have installed upgrade on previous N/A cars, however, this is the first turbo I've owned. My questions are:

1) I own an AP V1. Will a map take care of these mods or should I get it pro-tuned?

2) Are there any issues besides lower fuel mileage, I might run into if I were to drive it untuned for a period of time, (a month)? The reason I ask this is I live in a part of pa that does not do emissions testing. However, I may fail a visual inspection in which case I would have to reinstall the stock downpipe, get the vehicle inspected, then pull it off again and reinstall the catless downpipe. On a sidenote, I have thought of the catted downpipe, but I got a really good deal on the pipe and really wish to upgrade to the full three inches.

Again I appreciate an and all helpful info.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
down_for_the_scooby is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Old 07-17-2009, 05:33 PM   #2
wrxdrvr
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 79222
Join Date: Jan 2005
Chapter/Region: W. Canada
Location: Canada BC
Vehicle:
'09 STi 297.5 WHP
Blue

Default

I would put the stage 2 map on it rather than drive it untuned... and get it pro-tuned as soon as you can.
wrxdrvr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2009, 06:07 PM   #3
Woodward
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 102424
Join Date: Dec 2005
Chapter/Region: BAIC
Location: Patterson, CA
Vehicle:
2003 Tundra
GrEy

Default

With an AP OTS base map, "stage 2" in your case you'll be fine. You'll run a bit rich for safety purposes but it wont be as good as a protune. Just dont run those mods on the stock map.
Woodward is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2009, 03:18 AM   #4
down_for_the_scooby
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 78314
Join Date: Dec 2004
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: 3 feet south of E. Bumblef***
Vehicle:
04 PSM WRX
Audi mask the right way

Default

I am financially drained from all these upgrades and the transmission. Will the stage 2 work indefinitely? Also what does happen if driven with stock map?
down_for_the_scooby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2009, 03:22 AM   #5
down_for_the_scooby
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 78314
Join Date: Dec 2004
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: 3 feet south of E. Bumblef***
Vehicle:
04 PSM WRX
Audi mask the right way

Default

One other thing. On the potential pro-tune place Evan's Tuning (evanstuning.com) they advise against running synthetic oil. I run fully synthetic as I was under the impression it was superior to regular oil.

1) am I wrong

2) will this f*** up my tune and eventually my car?
down_for_the_scooby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2009, 09:07 AM   #6
424wrx
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 171948
Join Date: Feb 2008
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: new york
Vehicle:
08 wrx stg3 vf52
14 legacy, 11 fozzy

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by down_for_the_scooby View Post
One other thing. On the potential pro-tune place Evan's Tuning (evanstuning.com) they advise against running synthetic oil. I run fully synthetic as I was under the impression it was superior to regular oil.

1) am I wrong

2) will this f*** up my tune and eventually my car?
dude there are a 1000 threads on this topic. most people stay away from mobil 1. as long as you keep up on regular oil changes i dont think it makes any difference.
424wrx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2009, 02:16 PM   #7
pushnpounds
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 207683
Join Date: Apr 2009
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Hawley,PA
Vehicle:
02 bugeye
wrb

Default

you can run no map or the stage 2 cobb i had the same mods and drove without a tune for a while with no trouble i now have the stage 2 and it runs great the stage 2 map calls for exactly the mods you have and the pulley won't affect the tune i have been running full synthetic in my car with no trouble
pushnpounds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2009, 03:35 PM   #8
424wrx
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 171948
Join Date: Feb 2008
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: new york
Vehicle:
08 wrx stg3 vf52
14 legacy, 11 fozzy

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pushnpounds View Post
you can run no map or the stage 2 cobb i had the same mods and drove without a tune for a while with no trouble i now have the stage 2 and it runs great the stage 2 map calls for exactly the mods you have and the pulley won't affect the tune i have been running full synthetic in my car with no trouble
you are telling the op its ok to run no tune with a downpipe?? thats wrong info and could potentially cause issues. dont post things like that if you dont know.you HAVE to be tuned with a downpipe. period.
424wrx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2009, 04:14 PM   #9
b00stin
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 212898
Join Date: Jun 2009
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Maple Valley, WA
Vehicle:
05 CGM STi
WFC #289

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 424wrx View Post
you are telling the op its ok to run no tune with a downpipe?? thats wrong info and could potentially cause issues. dont post things like that if you dont know.you HAVE to be tuned with a downpipe. period.
Flash Stage 2 then save up for Protune... You wont get the full HP with stage 2 and your headers but it will run safe. Listen to this though^^^ Your car needs some form of a tune.
b00stin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2009, 05:07 PM   #10
down_for_the_scooby
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 78314
Join Date: Dec 2004
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: 3 feet south of E. Bumblef***
Vehicle:
04 PSM WRX
Audi mask the right way

Default

Cool. I'm really not looking to rice this car, so I really appreciate all the info.
down_for_the_scooby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2009, 07:14 PM   #11
liljon350
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 197068
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Central NJ
Vehicle:
2006 WRX evo316g'd
WRB 293whp/322tq [email protected]

Default

you can actually run safely untuned on a 02-05 wrx
liljon350 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2009, 08:09 AM   #12
el_guapo
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 132038
Join Date: Nov 2006
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: shade tree
Vehicle:
funk er chicks
serious bidness

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pushnpounds View Post
you can run no map or the stage 2 cobb i had the same mods and drove without a tune for a while with no trouble i now have the stage 2 and it runs great the stage 2 map calls for exactly the mods you have and the pulley won't affect the tune i have been running full synthetic in my car with no trouble
This worked for you because you have a 02. It will not work for the OP because (according to profile) has a 04. Don't assume something that works for you will work for any WRX and don't give advice unless you are SURE about it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 424wrx View Post
you are telling the op its ok to run no tune with a downpipe?? thats wrong info and could potentially cause issues. dont post things like that if you dont know.you HAVE to be tuned with a downpipe. period.
Yes, correct in this case and in general. However Bugeyes ONLY can safely run downpipes without a tune but really won't see any gains until tuned.

Quote:
Originally Posted by liljon350 View Post
you can actually run safely untuned on a 02-05 wrx
Bugeyes ONLY. It seems as time goes on this is becoming more commonly misunderstood and I am not sure why.
el_guapo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2009, 11:24 PM   #13
nickyOTH
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 158930
Join Date: Sep 2007
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NYC
Vehicle:
2007 STI
WRB

Default

I had a turboback exhaust on my 05 wrx for two years with no tune and had no problems...unless you consider faster spool up a problem...i know that with the 06 STI you cant do that due to boost spikes but that was corrected in the 07 Sti by a little wastegate porting...and yes i had a turboback on my 07 STI for a short time with no problems...
nickyOTH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2009, 07:19 AM   #14
down_for_the_scooby
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 78314
Join Date: Dec 2004
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: 3 feet south of E. Bumblef***
Vehicle:
04 PSM WRX
Audi mask the right way

Default

Hey folks actually got a AP V2 off another member here, (Thanks 96vj), I've heard there is a learning curve that takes the car a few days to learn the new stage 2 93 octane map. I ask this as I just reflashed it on Sunday and drove it for the first time yesterday in 3 1/2 months. It feels nice but it definitely does not feel like an additional 40+ hp. Can anyone answer this?
down_for_the_scooby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2009, 12:48 PM   #15
liljon350
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 197068
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Central NJ
Vehicle:
2006 WRX evo316g'd
WRB 293whp/322tq [email protected]

Default

it takes time to learn the map
liljon350 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2009, 08:19 PM   #16
down_for_the_scooby
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 78314
Join Date: Dec 2004
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: 3 feet south of E. Bumblef***
Vehicle:
04 PSM WRX
Audi mask the right way

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by liljon350 View Post
it takes time to learn the map

How long, 2 days, a week etc. And does the gain come slowly or does it just happen?
down_for_the_scooby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2009, 11:24 AM   #17
humperdinc
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 205625
Join Date: Mar 2009
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: there's no gardens hurrrrrr
Vehicle:
2009 Impreza WRX
obp

Default

I installed a Perrin Stage 2 map on my 09 WRX and it seems as if it learned it pretty quick; quick as in running the car semi-hard the same day and I definitely felt the difference.
humperdinc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2009, 06:54 PM   #18
intrinsic
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 132000
Join Date: Nov 2006
Default

Get a custom tune man...I blew my motor up with a standard map. IA performance will do a tune over the internet for like 75 bucks...pretty cool. 75 bucks or $7500 bucks for a new motor...
intrinsic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2009, 08:19 PM   #19
Cobb Tuning
NASIOC Vendor
 
Member#: 4803
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Austin, TX
Default

Our OTS maps are a little too conservative to be blowing up engines. I would be curious to know what else was going on with your car to precipitate engine damage. The OTS maps is a great all-around conservative map, but a ProTune is always going to give you more performance while maintaining that reliability.

Travis
COBB Tuning

COBB Tuning Facebook Group
COBB Tuning MySpace Page
COBB Tuning Twitter Page
Cobb Tuning is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2009, 03:23 PM   #20
mgrych
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 222778
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Wisconsin
Vehicle:
2007 WRX STI
Black

Default

Hate to just jump in on this thread but i have a super newbie question. I was looking at cobb st. 2 for my sti 07 and was trying to figure out exactly what the whole package requires to work properly. Do you just purchase the package, install the pipes, and software/maps or whatever and go about you business with the added HP and TQ? Or is there still a requirement to take it somewhere to get it tuned? I was under the impression that the maps and software that came with the near $2000 package took care of all that mess but am now second guessing the process.
mgrych is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2009, 09:14 PM   #21
casper1jr
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 208012
Join Date: Apr 2009
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Riverside CA
Vehicle:
07 WRB STi
Tuned @ 21psi

Default

^
If you have a catback just flash stg1 and your good. For stg2 you need a downppipe!!! I would buy the AP alone and shop around for a used good quality turbo back to save some cash!!
casper1jr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2009, 09:46 AM   #22
bluemicamatt
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 220246
Join Date: Aug 2009
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: St. Louis, but in IL
Vehicle:
2007 WRX TR
WRB

Default

mgrych,

I'm only at Stage 1 with my '07 WRX, and have been for a month or so using the AP V2 and Cobb's 93 octane map. the difference over stock is really worth it and the V2 is a fun toy.

This weekend i'm headed to Chicago for a wedding, and getting a protune up there. The additional expense of a protune probably isn't necessary, but it should enhance the tune above the off the shelf Cobb map.

I don't have an STI and am a noob, so take my opinion with a grain of salt. It seems to me though that the OTS maps are good but a pro-tune is even better. Is it $350 extra better? no F'in clue... at Stage 1 the consensus is NO, at Stage 2 the consensus is YES.

I'm doin' it just to do it & brand new to all this and have more $ than brains I guess! It is a bitter pill to swallow though - spending $500 on the Accessport and then another $350 for a protune a month or so later.

a decent analogy might be buying a suit. the OTS maps are a nice italian suit that'll set the tone for your look...way better than a t shirt and a pair of Umbro's. A protune is adding dope shoes, a shirt, matching tie, socks, and that ghey little silk hanky that sticks out of the chest pocket. You're in the door with the suit, but "pullin' wool" once it's all doll'd up.
bluemicamatt is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can I get away with an oem replacement clutch Overboosting04 Transmission (AT/MT) & Driveline 13 03-23-2010 04:36 PM
do you need a tune or accessport for a catless dp yamaha_rider619 Service & Maintenance 1 02-24-2010 05:13 PM
How boring is your jerb- or, what can you get away with? burningman Off-Topic 3 06-23-2006 11:56 AM
Can I get away with just the Stage 2 Map with these mods or is a Protune necessary? Red Rexx Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain (EJ Series Factory 2.0L Turbo) 13 11-16-2005 12:11 AM
what fuel mods can i get away with, and NO ecu re-tuning WRXallNiteLong Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain (EJ Series Factory 2.0L Turbo) 1 10-21-2003 07:29 AM

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2017 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2017, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.