Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Monday May 22, 2017
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Miscellaneous > Off-Topic

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads. 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-05-2012, 03:48 PM   #1
bulgarianfreak55
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 135691
Join Date: Dec 2006
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: NoVA
Vehicle:
2004 Subaru WRX STi
333 WHP, 325 WTQ AGILE!

Default Dell E521 Freezing Up at Loading Screen

This computer is quite old, but has ran well until now. It sometimes freezes at the beginning Dell logo screen. Theres a bar that loads at the bottom, and sometimes it freezes about halfway through. After a couple restarts, it works again and starts normally.

I know a descent amount about computers, so feel free to give technical suggestions about what might be wrong. I'm thinking its some sort of BIOS, motherboard, hardware? problem since the freeze happens at the beginning screen, it never even gets to loading windows 7. Do you think the CMOS should be cleared? Is my motherboard about to take a crap on me?

Thanks guys
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
bulgarianfreak55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Old 10-05-2012, 03:49 PM   #2
r0bman
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 87015
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Mos Eisley, TA 85202
Default

Take out the CMOS battery, swirl it around in your mouth a little bit (maybe even gargle it?), and put it back in.
r0bman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2012, 03:51 PM   #3
mrmojoz
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 297585
Join Date: Oct 2011
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Arlington
Vehicle:
13 Fjord Rafter

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by r0bman View Post
Take out the CMOS, swirl it around in your mouth a little bit (maybe even gargle it?), and put it back in.
No, this is horrible advice. I know a lot about computers. Gargling might damage the eprom.
mrmojoz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2012, 03:51 PM   #4
CalcVictim
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 57056
Join Date: Mar 2004
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Brighton, MA
Vehicle:
2006 Miata
Copper Red

Default

cpu overheating, check the heatsink and fan
CalcVictim is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2012, 03:56 PM   #5
Reflex-Arc
Lord of the Gif
 
Member#: 1703
Join Date: Jun 2000
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: I recommended the lasagna.
Vehicle:
2013 Fiat 500 Abarth
Bianco

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CalcVictim View Post
cpu overheating, check the heatsink and fan
It probably looks like a marmot.
Reflex-Arc is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2012, 04:00 PM   #6
bulgarianfreak55
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 135691
Join Date: Dec 2006
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: NoVA
Vehicle:
2004 Subaru WRX STi
333 WHP, 325 WTQ AGILE!

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CalcVictim View Post
cpu overheating, check the heatsink and fan
cpu temps are good, around 25 celsius
bulgarianfreak55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2012, 04:03 PM   #7
boxered
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 61884
Join Date: May 2004
Chapter/Region: International
Location: buying guns
Default

Boot to the OS DVD and run chkdsk /r
boxered is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2012, 04:03 PM   #8
Strider
Not A Skillet Tech
Moderator
 
Member#: 2197
Join Date: Aug 2000
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: An adventure is just
Vehicle:
an inconvenience,
properly considered.

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bulgarianfreak55 View Post
This computer is quite old, but has ran well until now. It sometimes freezes at the beginning Dell logo screen. Theres a bar that loads at the bottom, and sometimes it freezes about halfway through. After a couple restarts, it works again and starts normally.

I know a descent amount about computers, so feel free to give technical suggestions about what might be wrong. I'm thinking its some sort of BIOS, motherboard, hardware? problem since the freeze happens at the beginning screen, it never even gets to loading windows 7. Do you think the CMOS should be cleared? Is my motherboard about to take a crap on me?

Thanks guys
Dude, you're getting a PQ.
Strider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2012, 04:19 PM   #9
cnw
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 98395
Join Date: Oct 2005
Default

Pour Mrs. Butterworths on your scrotum and teabag the motherboard.
cnw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2012, 04:20 PM   #10
FellowTraveller
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 161570
Join Date: Oct 2007
Chapter/Region: E. Canada
Location: St. John's Newfoundland Canada
Vehicle:
2007 Impreza
Newport Blue Pearl

Default

Is the computer heavy? The hard drive is probably full. Delete some data and reboot 4 times, then delete your hibernation and standby files in C:\ and reboot 2 more times. Then erase the system-recovery images and Dell hidden recovery partition and reboot again. Play an MP3 and if the music sounds tinny, problem solved.
FellowTraveller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2012, 04:20 PM   #11
bobturismo
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 42145
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: cruizin' down the street in my
Vehicle:
6-4 jockin da bish-
es and slappin the hoes.

Default

Try swapping in a another HD or booting from an external HD

Also google it
bobturismo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2012, 04:21 PM   #12
Strider
Not A Skillet Tech
Moderator
 
Member#: 2197
Join Date: Aug 2000
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: An adventure is just
Vehicle:
an inconvenience,
properly considered.

Default

Does your retractable cup holder still work?
Strider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2012, 04:44 PM   #13
Swizz_dub
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 144089
Join Date: Mar 2007
Chapter/Region: International
Location: pls go
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bulgarianfreak55 View Post
Dell
theres your problem. next question.
Swizz_dub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2012, 04:48 PM   #14
foothill
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 292246
Join Date: Aug 2011
Chapter/Region: International
Location: Under a Blue and Yellow Flag
Default

Have you tied turning it on and off again? Sometimes this helps.

You could also try asking someone who cares.

I'm talking about the Indians.
foothill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2012, 05:07 PM   #15
outbacksport
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 23114
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: A Galaxy far far away...
Vehicle:
2009 Cadillac CTS-V
Thunder Gray Chromaflair

Default

Dude you're getting a dell!
outbacksport is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2012, 05:12 PM   #16
r0bman
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 87015
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Mos Eisley, TA 85202
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by outbacksport View Post
Dude you're getting a dell!
Someone already made that joke, idiot.
r0bman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2012, 05:19 PM   #17
MidnightSti05
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 74064
Join Date: Nov 2004
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Default

Take it to an Apple store.
MidnightSti05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2012, 12:03 PM   #18
bulgarianfreak55
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 135691
Join Date: Dec 2006
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: NoVA
Vehicle:
2004 Subaru WRX STi
333 WHP, 325 WTQ AGILE!

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by foothill View Post
Have you tied turning it on and off again? Sometimes this helps.

You could also try asking someone who cares.

I'm talking about the Indians.

If you're gonna make a joke post with no substance, at LEAST take the time to read my full post. I clearly stated that if I turn it on and off again a couple of times, it fixes the issue but it reoccurs at later times.

But at least you gave me a free bump, so thanks haha
bulgarianfreak55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2012, 09:20 PM   #19
bcblues
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 17256
Join Date: Apr 2002
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: America's Outback
Vehicle:
04 STi
Blue w/ custom bug splat

Default

Have you swapped anything out? Or added any USB devices?
bcblues is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 05:34 PM   #20
bulgarianfreak55
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 135691
Join Date: Dec 2006
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: NoVA
Vehicle:
2004 Subaru WRX STi
333 WHP, 325 WTQ AGILE!

Default

nope, nothing new
bulgarianfreak55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 06:14 PM   #21
Davemeister
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 86577
Join Date: May 2005
Location: D1cKSh0Tz [ON] OFF
Vehicle:
2018 Supercoolmobile
Awesome Pearl Metallic

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CalcVictim View Post
cpu overheating, check the heatsink and fan
He said it's FREEZING up. I hate it when dummies like you try and help people with complicated computer problems.

What you want to do is put the computer in the oven and get it good and warmed up so it stops freezing. It should smoke a little and smell kind of "plasticy" if you're doing it right.

Hope that helps.
Davemeister is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 06:21 PM   #22
BigWrecKs
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 93830
Join Date: Aug 2005
Chapter/Region: South East
Vehicle:
11.5 New Balance
Shoes

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bulgarianfreak55 View Post
This computer is quite old, but has ran well until now. It sometimes freezes at the beginning Dell logo screen. Theres a bar that loads at the bottom, and sometimes it freezes about halfway through. After a couple restarts, it works again and starts normally.

I know a descent amount about computers, so feel free to give technical suggestions about what might be wrong. I'm thinking its some sort of BIOS, motherboard, hardware? problem since the freeze happens at the beginning screen, it never even gets to loading windows 7. Do you think the CMOS should be cleared? Is my motherboard about to take a crap on me?

Thanks guys
Decent.
BigWrecKs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 06:23 PM   #23
BigWrecKs
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 93830
Join Date: Aug 2005
Chapter/Region: South East
Vehicle:
11.5 New Balance
Shoes

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bulgarianfreak55 View Post
This computer is quite old, but has ran well until now. It sometimes freezes at the beginning Dell logo screen. Theres a bar that loads at the bottom, and sometimes it freezes about halfway through. After a couple restarts, it works again and starts normally.

I know a descent amount about computers, so feel free to give technical suggestions about what might be wrong. I'm thinking its some sort of BIOS, motherboard, hardware? problem since the freeze happens at the beginning screen, it never even gets to loading windows 7. Do you think the CMOS should be cleared? Is my motherboard about to take a crap on me?

Thanks guys
Hmm, i've seen this before. Your power supply may not be providing enough power to the systemboard. I would hook it to 220V+ circuit and see what happens.
BigWrecKs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 10:39 PM   #24
bulgarianfreak55
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 135691
Join Date: Dec 2006
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: NoVA
Vehicle:
2004 Subaru WRX STi
333 WHP, 325 WTQ AGILE!

Default

hmm but ive had the same PSU on it for years....i do have another one lying around I hope it fits this retarded dell case haha Thanks!
bulgarianfreak55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 10:55 PM   #25
Indocti Discant
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 138000
Join Date: Jan 2007
Chapter/Region: BAIC
Location: et ament meminisse periti
Vehicle:
Buy Nate's coffee
west coast roasting

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bulgarianfreak55 View Post
hmm but ive had the same PSU on it for years....i do have another one lying around I hope it fits this retarded dell case haha Thanks!
there's your problem.
Indocti Discant is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2017 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2017, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.