Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Monday December 11, 2017
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning > Open Source Reflashes

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads. 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-24-2010, 03:01 AM   #1
dux10
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 235338
Join Date: Jan 2010
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Georgia
Vehicle:
2002 Faggin Wagon
srp

Default Can't read/write ecu via ecuflash

Installed romraider: works perfectly.
Installed ecuflash: kinda, but not 100% working.
I connected the 2 green test connectors under the dash, and the additional jumper plug. The car DOES GO INTO TEST MODE!!!!
I selected the correct ecu in ecuflash (2002 usdm wrx) and turned the ignition "on" and hit "ok" super quick, simultaneously, a little slower- everything!!
Basically it jumps into test mode (fuel pump and fans coming on/off etc...) without reading the ecu.

I am using a Windows Vista Home Premium machine.
Uninstalled and reinstall ecuflash 10 times with no luck.
Uninstalled and reinstall drivers for tactrix cable many times.
rebooted computer many times.
the tactrix cable is brand new.

Is showing this every single time::::
[09:35:59.171] denso02_bootloader_cmd_start
[09:36:00.406] denso02_bootloader_cmd_start
[09:36:01.625] denso02_bootloader_cmd_start
[09:36:02.843] denso02_bootloader_cmd_start
[09:36:04.078] denso02_bootloader_cmd_start
[09:36:04.515] kernel get version
[09:36:04.843] interface close
[09:36:04.859] interface close

there must be some trick to do this that I dont know about. please help.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
dux10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Old 10-24-2010, 08:43 AM   #2
quazimoto
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 70395
Join Date: Sep 2004
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Da-boonies,Va
Default

Did you install Ecuflash as admin? Which version of Ecuflash are you using? Don't use the newest beta version and manually install the drivers.
quazimoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2010, 09:58 AM   #3
dux10
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 235338
Join Date: Jan 2010
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Georgia
Vehicle:
2002 Faggin Wagon
srp

Default

which version do i use?? i used the link from the sticky thread. and i did manually install the drivers.
i did some reading on romraiders site and it mentioned having all electrical accessories off. i had my radar detector on, dome light, and my laptop was charging via the cigarette lighter. is it possible that this is what's holding me up?????
dux10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2010, 11:04 AM   #4
quazimoto
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 70395
Join Date: Sep 2004
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Da-boonies,Va
Default

No because there is no voltage error.
quazimoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2010, 11:08 AM   #5
dux10
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 235338
Join Date: Jan 2010
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Georgia
Vehicle:
2002 Faggin Wagon
srp

Default

so whats your next suggestion??
dux10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2010, 12:57 PM   #6
dux10
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 235338
Join Date: Jan 2010
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Georgia
Vehicle:
2002 Faggin Wagon
srp

Default

http://www.romraider.com/forum/topic4769.html

http://forums.sidc.co.uk/topic/11195...t/page__st__20
this is whats happening! exactly!
gonna try it on my fathers wrx later and see if it will work on his....
also, i have a CEL for EVAP. could the code (for whatever unknown reason) be causing this??

Last edited by dux10; 10-25-2010 at 03:32 PM.
dux10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2010, 05:41 PM   #7
quazimoto
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 70395
Join Date: Sep 2004
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Da-boonies,Va
Default

Code has nothing to do with it. Could even be the cable. Search. There has to be at least 50 threads in this subforum on your exact problem.........
quazimoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2010, 10:10 PM   #8
dux10
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 235338
Join Date: Jan 2010
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Georgia
Vehicle:
2002 Faggin Wagon
srp

Default

that's just it- i have been searching. i found people with similar problems, but the threads are old and they never reported if the problem was fixed or how. the ecu is not bricked. i tried it on my dads 02, same exact situation.
dux10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2010, 02:06 AM   #9
smeagol
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 80900
Join Date: Feb 2005
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Lemont, IL
Vehicle:
2002 WRX Wagon
PSM

Default

I'm in the same boat. Logging works, learning view works. I connected the green connectors, and it does go into test mode. I've got the flash jumper installed (not that it matters just for a read). I've tried changing up the timing, as far as the sequence for attempting a read, no dice. My logs are the same as the link you posted.

I'm on Win7 (Bootcamp on a MBP, *not* in virtual environment FWIW).
I have an Openport 2.0.
Car has a custom calibration via APv1, from what I'm told, it's not locked.
I'm running the apps with admin privileges.

Next to try is this:
http://www.romraider.com/Documentati...aiderFAQ#toc39
smeagol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2010, 02:43 AM   #10
dux10
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 235338
Join Date: Jan 2010
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Georgia
Vehicle:
2002 Faggin Wagon
srp

Default

you may have an opportunity to try this before me. report back immediately! good or bad i wanna know what the **** is causing this crap......
thanx man!
dux10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2010, 12:06 PM   #11
surfrjag
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 225671
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: chesapeake, va
Vehicle:
2002 wrx impreza
the black pearl

Default

02-03 are a pita sometimes. i had to hit ok, then wait about 3-4 seconds and then turn the key. i think because they go into test mode so fast. but then again it could also be the cable. some people say they have had to send it back to tactrix to resolder parts together. i wouldnt know how to tell what exactly the problem is but trying this method a few times could work or make you more frustrated.. good luck
surfrjag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2010, 12:08 PM   #12
surfrjag
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 225671
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: chesapeake, va
Vehicle:
2002 wrx impreza
the black pearl

Default

then there is the voltage error problem i had also. if you do get it to connect and it says low voltage 4. whatver. this would normally be from not having the jump connecter connected however on my car i had to run a 12v from the positive battery to the jumper block for writing.
surfrjag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2010, 12:38 PM   #13
dux10
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 235338
Join Date: Jan 2010
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Georgia
Vehicle:
2002 Faggin Wagon
srp

Default

not getting a voltage error. i guess i could try your method. it wont hurt. i'm up for anything at this point....
dux10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2010, 05:42 PM   #14
mikedsilva
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 230453
Join Date: Nov 2009
Chapter/Region: International
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Vehicle:
2007 WRX-tuned bysti
Blue

Default

i had a similar situation a while ago... turned out i didnt have ecuflash pointing to the correct location of the definitions file...
When I went into the options area of ecuflash and checked where the metadata directory was pointing to, it was some part of my hard drive that was wrong. I had to manually change it to
C:\Program Files\OpenECU\EcuFlash\rommetadata
then it worked a treat....

dunno if this is related to your problem...
mikedsilva is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2010, 05:45 PM   #15
dux10
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 235338
Join Date: Jan 2010
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Georgia
Vehicle:
2002 Faggin Wagon
srp

Default

No... that area is set up properly.... Thanx though.
dux10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2010, 10:06 PM   #16
smeagol
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 80900
Join Date: Feb 2005
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Lemont, IL
Vehicle:
2002 WRX Wagon
PSM

Default

Made the changes per my previous post and finally had a successful read.

BUT, in the course of doing that, I realized that when I set up the ECU definitions, I didn't delete the old ones, I just renamed the directory to subaru.OLD or something. This time through, on the reinstallation, I made sure to delete the subaru directory. I have no idea whether or not this makes a difference, but I'm just sharing my experience. I am guessing my line of thought was that I'd have to specify the path in EcuFlash similar to specifying the path/xml files in RomRaider, and that's not the case.

So whether it was the ECU definition situation, or the newer version of EcuFlash, it works now.
smeagol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2010, 06:02 PM   #17
Fierysun
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 82745
Join Date: Mar 2005
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: So Cal
Vehicle:
2005 Subaru STI
2003 EJ207 S204 Wagon

Default

What worked for me is to connect the jumper plug first, turn the key on and then off, then plug the two green connectors together. Then back on to read/flash.

If i plug the green connectors together first, I can never get it to read, let alone flash.
Fierysun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2010, 10:44 PM   #18
scoobystas
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 26568
Join Date: Oct 2002
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Brighton, Mass
Vehicle:
2003 Yellow Bugeye
Version 8-Vf37

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fierysun View Post
What worked for me is to connect the jumper plug first, turn the key on and then off, then plug the two green connectors together. Then back on to read/flash.

If i plug the green connectors together first, I can never get it to read, let alone flash.
hmmm you may have something here. I have my flash block connected under the dash at all times. Then i have a toggle switch for the green test connectors. So before a flash when i get into the car, the car is obviously not in test mode, but the flash block is already connected. Once i'm in I flip the switch into test mode. I usually don't have any issues with flashing other than an intermittent voltage error, which seems to have been resolved with a new open port unit from tactrix.
scoobystas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2010, 02:24 PM   #19
MasTuningJeddah
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 263672
Join Date: Nov 2010
Default

i have a 2009 STI and i am able to read but i guess i need a definition file to open it.

i am using openport 2.0 and the latest ecu flash software. 1.42+
MasTuningJeddah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2010, 04:58 PM   #20
quazimoto
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 70395
Join Date: Sep 2004
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Da-boonies,Va
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MasTuningJeddah View Post
i have a 2009 STI and i am able to read but i guess i need a definition file to open it.

i am using openport 2.0 and the latest ecu flash software. 1.42+
Read..........the..............FAQ's........

http://forums.nasioc.com/forums/show....php?t=1410201

Post what the calibration ID is
quazimoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2010, 11:57 AM   #21
MasTuningJeddah
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 263672
Join Date: Nov 2010
Default

calibration ID is Internal ID: AZ1G202G
MasTuningJeddah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2010, 11:58 AM   #22
MasTuningJeddah
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 263672
Join Date: Nov 2010
Default

in romraider it opens fine, but how would i transfer it to the vehicle when i open the file in ecuflash and it says ROM imagine undefined
MasTuningJeddah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2010, 12:10 PM   #23
Disaster646
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 135382
Join Date: Dec 2006
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Hollywood, FL
Vehicle:
2017 Sti
fpgreen+E85 ftw [email protected]

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by scoobystas View Post
hmmm you may have something here. I have my flash block connected under the dash at all times. Then i have a toggle switch for the green test connectors. So before a flash when i get into the car, the car is obviously not in test mode, but the flash block is already connected. Once i'm in I flip the switch into test mode. I usually don't have any issues with flashing other than an intermittent voltage error, which seems to have been resolved with a new open port unit from tactrix.

nice to know... i never had a problem flashing my 02 wrx or other years, and was thinking on leaving the flash block connected, and use a toggle switch for the green, but didnt want to cause harm to the ecu, how long have you been doing this?
Disaster646 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2010, 02:54 PM   #24
subi-bartimioli02
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 205892
Join Date: Mar 2009
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Vehicle:
2002 Subaru wrx
blue

Default

HEY SEARCH MY THREAD "I Got VAG-COM cable and I need help!!!!!" IT GOES OVER ALOT OF THE ISSUES YOU ARE HAVING. ITS NOT JUST ABOUT THE VAG-COM CABLE. CHECK IT OUT IT SHOULD SOLVE YOUR PROBLEMS IF YOU READ IT OVER
subi-bartimioli02 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2010, 07:56 AM   #25
bugeye_fi
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 264734
Join Date: Nov 2010
Default

Anything new about this one?

I have a same problem: I can log just fine with the Romraider but can't read flash with Ecuflash.

The car is a 2002 WRX USDM 5MT with an Ecuflash compatible Denso ECU. The car enters the test mode when green connectors are connected and the power switched on (fans start, CEL blinks). I have short circuited the two Flash connector pins too (white 3-pole connector near the green connectors).

Ecuflash recognizes the (Openport 1.3U) cable fine since there is a "Openport 1.3U nnn.. something" text in the lower right corner in there.

I have tried starting the ECU read before turning the key, the same time and after waiting a second or two. But it just enters the test mode and starts the fans.

I only get this from the Ecuflash:

[09:35:59.171] denso02_bootloader_cmd_start
[09:36:00.406] denso02_bootloader_cmd_start
[09:36:01.625] denso02_bootloader_cmd_start
[09:36:02.843] denso02_bootloader_cmd_start
[09:36:04.078] denso02_bootloader_cmd_start
[09:36:04.515] kernel get version
[09:36:04.843] interface close
[09:36:04.859] interface close

The same message appears when the cable is not connected to the car at all. I have tried different Ecuflash versions but with no success. So the car is not entering the flash mode.

The car had an AEM intake on when I bought it so who knows if it also has a custom tune in the ECU -> a locked ECU. But how can I tell?

If the ECU is locked then how can I "format" the ECU and upload a factory software in it? How about SHBoot-method for overwriting the whole image to remove any traces of Ecutek? Or is it for 32-bit ECUs only?

EDIT

Probably the Openport 1.3U cable is broken.. The pin 16 is missing and the guy at the store now tells me that the pin is needed to flash Subaru ECUs (Mitsubishi ECUs can be flashed without it). Now waiting to get replacement.

EDIT2

Yes, the new cable solved the problem. WRX really needs the pin16. Now I can flash the ECU with no problems. Just turn the key and hit OK, it reads and writes ok. No problems with timing or anything.

Last edited by bugeye_fi; 12-29-2010 at 10:55 AM. Reason: Problem solved!
bugeye_fi is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ecuflash can't read ecu carlosdevil10 Open Source Reflashes 25 10-16-2010 10:33 PM
EcuFlash error message/can't read ecu. bluert Open Source Reflashes 7 08-12-2009 07:40 PM
need help! can't read ecu thru ECUFlash sgmongoose Commercial ECU Reflashes 9 08-08-2007 12:58 PM
MD emissions can't read my ECU?? rishoboy6 Mid Atlantic Impreza Club -- MAIC 9 01-19-2007 12:40 PM
Free (beta) utility to read/write ECU image now available(openecu.org) ahains Engine Management & Tuning 10 07-07-2005 05:53 PM

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2017 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2017, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.