Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Wednesday June 28, 2017
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Electrical & Lighting

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads. 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-17-2016, 01:48 AM   #1
dictoresno
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 139816
Join Date: Feb 2007
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NJ
Vehicle:
2002 WRX, VF34 swap
WRB

Default 02 WRX ABS kill switch - wiring questions

A little late to the party, and checked all the old threads which are not very informative and any pics/diagrams no longer work.

Going to try this mod but have some questions.

1.) does the switch that I use have to be the same 20 amp rating as the 20 amp fuse behind the coin tray?

2.) I have an OEM Hella switch that came with my 500's. It says its rated at 15 amps and has three terminals.

Pin #1 is +12V from Source
Pin #2 is +12V to Load
Pin #3 Ground (necessary for LED function)

Can this switch be wired to and handle the simple 2 wire circuit I'm using for the ABS switch? How would it be wired?

It seems most people wired this up in 10 mins from stuff they had laying around. Am I overthinking the process? Don't wanna short anything out.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
dictoresno is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Old 11-17-2016, 03:57 PM   #2
Cougar4
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 53443
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Anchorage, AK
Vehicle:
2001 LL Bean Outback
Winestone

Default

Lights that require a significant amount of current to operate are usually supplied power through a relay. The relay contacts and wiring between the power source and the lights have to handle the high current. The switch that controls the relay operation just needs to handle the current for the relay coil, which is a small amount of current. A switch that is only rated for 1 amp could easily handle the current needed to operate the relay coil.

The switch you talk about could be used for a lot of things using pins 1 and 2. When you connect pin 3 to ground then the light inside the switch will either turn on with the switch or, the light will be on at all times, depending on the design of the switch. I assume the light will turn on with the switch.
Cougar4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2016, 05:29 PM   #3
dictoresno
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 139816
Join Date: Feb 2007
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NJ
Vehicle:
2002 WRX, VF34 swap
WRB

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cougar4 View Post
Lights that require a significant amount of current to operate are usually supplied power through a relay. The relay contacts and wiring between the power source and the lights have to handle the high current. The switch that controls the relay operation just needs to handle the current for the relay coil, which is a small amount of current. A switch that is only rated for 1 amp could easily handle the current needed to operate the relay coil.

The switch you talk about could be used for a lot of things using pins 1 and 2. When you connect pin 3 to ground then the light inside the switch will either turn on with the switch or, the light will be on at all times, depending on the design of the switch. I assume the light will turn on with the switch.


Ok thank you. So theoretically the ground is just for the light source.

Now can this 15amp rated switch be used to power the ABS kill switch? The abs fuse is 20Amp. Am I really playing with danger or it should be ok.
dictoresno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2016, 11:09 PM   #4
Cougar4
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 53443
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Anchorage, AK
Vehicle:
2001 LL Bean Outback
Winestone

Default

Even though the fuse rating is for 20 amps it is doubtful the circuit you are using the switch in requires 20 amps to operate. The fuse most likely supplies power to other things also that shares the current coming from the fuse. You aren't in danger of anything.
Cougar4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2016, 11:10 PM   #5
dictoresno
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 139816
Join Date: Feb 2007
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NJ
Vehicle:
2002 WRX, VF34 swap
WRB

Default

Thanks!
dictoresno is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2017 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2017, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.